The Prince Mahidol Award Laureates 2022

On January 25th, 2023, the PMA Laureates in Medicine: Prof. Ralph A. DeFronzo, and the PMA Laureates in Public Health: Dr. Douglas R. Lowy and Dr. John T. Schiller, were warmly greeted by Prof. Apichat Asavamongkolkul, Vice-President of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital, as well as faculty executive members. The Laureates paid a visit to the Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital and offered special lectures highlighting their contributions to medical science and public health.

At 09:30 a.m., the PMA Laureates paid their respects by laying a wreath at the statue of His Royal Highness Prince Mahidol of Songkla before taking a group photo with the faculty’s executive members.

At 9:45 a.m., the laureates paid their respects to HM the King Chulalongkorn statue before visiting the Prince Mahidol Museum and the Prince Mahidol Aduladeja Room, Siriraj Medical Library.

At Noon, the Laureates attended the Faculty Luncheon held by the Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital at Sirindhorn Conference Room, Chalermphrakiat Building, to commemorate their significant contribution and achievement.

In the final session, the Laureates delivered special lectures at the Rachapanaddasirindhorn Auditorium, Srisavarindira Building, on the topics, respectively, “The Ominous Octet and More: Implications for Therapy” by Prof. Ralph A. DeFronzo, “The Public Health Impact of the HPV Vaccine” by Dr. Douglas R. Lowy; and “Explanations for the High Potency of HPV Prophylactic Vaccines” by Dr.John T. Schiller.